Impact on a newer vehicle?

Edits and changes to engines, experiences, findings and ideas.
lenobono
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic

Impact on a newer vehicle?

by lenobono » 25/03/08, 23:59

Hello,

I am currently studying the possibility of embarking on the installation of a Pantone system on a test vehicle, and then possibly in a larger impact business where I would offer a conversion service for the general public ...

The problem facing me right now, is that the person with the mechanical skills with whom I want to associate makes me by that the pantone system is relatively outdated if we consider the vehicles of today and where I find me (in Canada).

It is clear that all pantone engine installations are done on older vehicles, diesel engines and tractors ... I am beginning to doubt the usefulness of such a system on a newer vehicle.

For example, I have a 2002 Ford Focus, and this type of vehicle, following regulations, already has an emission control system which includes detectors which automatically regulate the gasoline / air flow of the engine in order to carry out an optimal burning of the gasoline, and also reinserts part of the exhaust gases to the engine.

According to my mechanic friend, therefore, this system already has all the characteristics of the pantone system, minus the obvious depollution advantage. The current vehicle system, still according to the mechanic, also already leads to an improvement in efficiency of around 30%. In addition, today's vehicles being automated and computerized, it would be quite complex to make a modification of the system without affecting the on-board computer and making it either ineffective or out of whack.

So my question (simplistic version) is whether the pantone system is really necessary for current vehicles (2000s and up) or if it is only older diesel vehicles and tractors that can take advantage of this principle!
0 x
: Lenovo Bono

I'm the good Lenovo!
Capt_Maloche