Drying time of lumber?

Help and advice for all work carried out in self building and presentation of your work DIY or self-build. Because making oneself is often econological but beware overconfidence!
rasputin56
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic

Drying time of lumber?

by rasputin56 » 24/08/11, 11:39

Hello everybody
First I introduce myself because I am a new kid on your (rich) forum. As indicated on the left my username is raspoutine56, I work in the voluntary sector and I have just acquired a small house (ruin?) In the forests of central Brittany.
The problem that brings me here today is as follows: I want to make a wood (beam post) / straw extension on my house. I have a lot of wood on my land and in particular oak, chestnut and thuja (the equivalent of red cedar but French .... er ... Breton).
I had thought of cutting down the cedars and bringing in a mobile sawmill to use wood as parquet for bathrooms and terraces.
I also said to myself, maybe also use oak or chestnut as wood for my frame. on the other hand I ignore the drying times necessary before being able to build without having too much shrinkage or spin. Do you have an idea ?
Thank you all and long live Econologie !!!
: Lol: : Lol:

Edit response by modo: response elements here heating-insulation / drying du bois-de-heating-balance-hygroscopic-t10065.html
0 x
swift2540
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!

by swift2540 » 24/08/11, 13:15

Hello and welcome!
I'm not a wood pro, but an old carpenter told me that wood dries on average 1cm thick / year (2cm for fir).
==> A 2cm oak / beech plank dries in 1 year (1cm on each side : Cheesy: )
==> a 6cm white fir beam dries over 1,5 years ...

Provided they are stored under roof, well ventilated and flat of course.
0 x
Sometimes it is better to stop, reflect, and ask the right questions ...
dedeleco
Econologue expert
Econologue expert

by dedeleco » 24/08/11, 15:51

Hello