The vegetable garden without getting tired

Agriculture and soil. Pollution control, soil remediation, humus and new agricultural techniques.
Biobomb
I posted 500 messages!
I posted 500 messages!

Re: The vegetable garden without getting tired

by Biobomb » 06/07/21, 22:50

Did67 wrote:

For your onions:

I have been making hybrid onions for 2 years. 100% success in volume, quality and conservation.
0 x
stephgouv
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!

by stephgouv » 07/07/21, 08:06

Did67 wrote:This ties in with my observations: the red varieties are generally more sensitive, I stopped making "Red baron" or "Carmen" in the spring ... Each time, it goes up.

Good to know that! Thank you.
A small photo is better than a long speech ...
20210329_160405.jpg
Red baron
0 x
Did67

by Did67 » 07/07/21, 08:27

Biobombe wrote:
I have been making hybrid onions for 2 years. 100% success in volume, quality and conservation.

You mean you hybridized (crossed) varieties? Or real commercial hybrids (so HF1)?

I note in my "pink notebook" [yes, as I am distracted, I have a notebook in which I note the "good ideas". And he's ... pink!]

I planted a tray of purple onions in the fall (I don't think I wrote down the name; I think I remember that the tray had lost its label - it was the "funds lying around in a garden center when no one left. does not buy plants "). They are not mounted and are ... giant! Probably one of those HF1s!
0 x
Did67

by Did67 » 07/07/21, 08:35

Biobombe wrote:
I haven't made red onions for a long time, like Didier and others certainly.

I try anyway, every year, always a seedling of "Rouge de Florence".

Last year, a seedling of "Morada de Amposta" was huge! The onions were touching each other in the row. Never watered. And excellent conservation: the last to germinate in my cellar ...