OKOFEN: Choose a PE20 or PE25?

Heating, insulation, ventilation, VMC, cooling ... short thermal comfort. Insulation, wood energy, heat pumps but also electricity, gas or oil, VMC ... Help in choosing and implementation, problem solving, optimization, tips and tricks ...
guizmo6767
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic

OKOFEN: Choose a PE20 or PE25?

by guizmo6767 » 06/05/11, 12:13

Hello,
I am studying the replacement of my fuel boiler (Buderus logana 105G + Ecomatic) of 25 years of age (approximately) by a beautiful Okofen + silo (feed by worm)

I keep in my installation the following elements:
- Radiators
- 3-way valve

I asked for several quotes and I find myself with the following problem:
Do I have to go on a PE20 or PE25?

My house is located in Lorraine, it is an old farm whose outbuildings have been transformed into residential houses and the old house into outbuildings (everything is connected).

I currently occupy 139M2 on 2 levels (ceiling height on average 2,40).
I have plans to renovate a more or less long term (7 to 10 years) part of the uninhabited area to enlarge:

- 35 to 56m2 on the ground floor (maximum)
- 100M2 upstairs (large maximum)

In terms of insulation, I will have double glazing everywhere (this year I am replacing non-existent windows on the outbuilding side).
The walls are of stone or red brick, more placo and polystère.
The ceilings are insulated (glass wool)
There are double doors between the inhabited part and the outbuildings.

According to my calculations I have a current need of around 17 kW.
The installers offer me either a PE20 or a PE25. The choice is complicated because the PE20 can be restrained (it is the same machine as the PE15), which is not the case with the PE25 (we start on another range of machine).

If I enlarge, it is possible that the PE20 is not sufficient. By cons while waiting to do the PE25 may be oversized (What about consumption and efficiency).