Water injection Caravelle VW combi, also called Van-Transporter

Edits and changes to engines, experiences, findings and ideas.
fredlegentil
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic

Water injection Caravelle VW combi, also called Van-Transporter

by fredlegentil » 02/02/07, 18:05

Concerning the "Water doping of an old VW Caravelle", by pantone process, reviewed and corrected ... I will try to present my work.

(Other achievements here http://perso.orange.fr/quanthommesuite)

So there will be a little thirty photo, and the text that goes with it, this is my first post here, be indulgent!

Let's go : Arrowd: : Arrowd: : Arrowd: it starts here.

Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical teacher (28 years old, Paris region) and have been learning for a few years about the Pantone process.

This idea of ​​adding water vapor at very high temperature (because in the liquid state, HS engine ...) has existed for many years for particular applications, car competition, motorcycle ... (And even, during the second world war, the German aviation thus enriched its engines in oxygen, if not there were big problems in altitude ...).

This summer 2006, I therefore finally took action on a VW caravel (a 1,9-liter petrol unit), because I had a vehicle on hand which was rather suitable for "retrofitting", with the engine running on it. 'rear, with room ...

What does an old caravel look like?

The "normal" engine

Exhaust just under the engine, practical ...

Context:

So I went to Israel as part of the construction of an orphanage, and on the spot, with a friend *, we took care of equipping his vehicle. (* My friend worked in air conditioning before, he therefore perfectly masters heat transfers, impressive!)

Installation plan
(There are 2 versions: with dip tube and without dip tube)
This is why on the following photos, the heating box will have 3 or 2 orifices, depending on where the realization was ...

First idea:
Here the heating box therefore has 3 holes.