Understand the world we live in?

Current Economy and Sustainable Development-compatible? GDP growth (at all costs), economic development, inflation ... How concillier the current economy with the environment and sustainable development.
GuyGadeboisTheBack
Econologue expert
Econologue expert

Re: Understand the world we live in?

View GuyGadeboisTheBack » 17/12/23, 00:39

No more problems with messaging (Thunderbird).
0 x
Christophe

View Christophe » 17/12/23, 02:33

The better world:

I'm a teacher, it's freezing in stone, I throw buckets of water in the playground so that the students can slide. Everybody is happy ! We extend recess.
I'm a principal, the playground is icy, I ask the school workers to throw road salt all over the playground.
Everybody is happy ! Outdoor recess is shortened.
Holidays.
In 1969:
After spending 15 days of vacation with family, in Brittany, in the caravan towed by a 403 Peugeot, the vacation ends.
The next day, you go back to work, fresh and refreshed.
In 2016:
After 2 weeks in Reunion and Mauritius, obtained inexpensively thanks to the “vacation vouchers” from the Works Council, you return tired and exhausted by 4 hours of waiting at the airport, followed by 12 hours flight.
At work, you need 1 week to recover from jet lag!
In 1969:
Milk, butter and eggs
You go to get milk from the dairyman, who says hello to you, with your aluminum can, and you take butter, made with cow's milk, cut by the lump. Then you ask for a dozen and a half eggs, which he takes out of a large glass bowl.
You pay with the milkmaid's smile, and you go out into the bright sunshine.
The whole thing took 10 minutes.
In 2016:
You take a crappy shopping cart with a stuck wheel and make it go in every direction except the one you want.