Calculate the power of a solar oven

Solar thermal energy in all its forms: solar heating, hot water, choosing a solar collector, solar concentration, ovens and solar cookers, solar energy storage by heat buffer, solar pool, air conditioning and solar cold ..
Aid, counseling, fixtures and examples of achievements ...
mageflor
I learn econologic
I learn econologic

Calculate the power of a solar oven

by mageflor » 10/04/07, 12:04

Hello,

I am writing to you because I am a student and that I decided to do some work about solar ovens. Indeed, I am enthusiastic about these ovens which allow developing countries to cook without contributing to deforestation and especially not to need to go get wood which takes them an eighth of their time. In addition, it allows them to make the water drinkable so this is very beneficial in many ways.

For my project, I would like to know how we calculate the power of a parabolic oven. Is the formula good:
surface * sunshine * thermal solar yield?
On the other hand, what is the value taken for sunshine?
I have indeed contradictory information. On the site http://www.outilssolaires.com/infos/prin-ensoleil.htm
values ​​greater than 3 kW / m² are given. And yet, I was told that direct solar radiation was only 800 W / m² and the only one usable for solar ovens. What is the real answer and the real calculation?
I think promoting solar ovens is always very interesting, so I hope you will give me an answer soon ...
Goods.
Sunshine ...
0 x
Christophe

Re: Power of a solar oven

by Christophe » 10/04/07, 13:09

mageflor wrote:On the site http://www.outilssolaires.com/infos/prin-ensoleil.htm
values ​​greater than 3 kW / m² are given. And yet, I was told that direct solar radiation was only 800 W / m² and the only one usable for solar ovens. What is the real answer and the real calculation?

Hi and welcome to this forum :)